The Evolution of Music & Building Your Own Sound

• I thought this would be a good topic to discuss. As I was listening to Toro Y Moi's "Anything in Return" album and some of MRCARMACKS stuff it really made me think about the evolution of music & how things are changing.

As for the building your own sound part... would you say it takes inspiration to be innovative & original? or does originality simply not exist to some degree?

Whats your view on this? I would love to hear all your opinions.

• I don't know, to be honest. To me, originality is something that's real and not all the same time. Nothing is really ever new, but there are new ways to do old things. So in a way it's original. But everything is based off of something. I've been producing for 7 years and in the very beginning I sounded just like The Neptunes. As time went on, I used their sound to kinda like develop my own. My tracks still have that Neptunes flavor but they have more of my own identity in them. It's 75/25 at this point.

• Admin

Carmack -> Your Favourite Producer

Ill tell u just this, his album material is fucking alien shyt, fuckin amazing its coming next year.

• @Mika he's got an album coming??? :0

All I can say is that it comes out nowhere for me...it's weird how nothing turns into something beautiful. This will be my 11th year producing tho life has gotten in the way multiple times. I think we all sounded like the neptunes starting out. Everyone had that same kit lol

• @Mika In my opinion, EDM is taking over everything song structure wise. Mr.Carmacks sound is crazy tbh, was he the first to make music like that?

• When we say the neptunes sound are we talking the use of Synth strings/pads and bongos ? or the drum patterns?

• @3.14 Both and the use of their more well known drums. If it sounded like Neptunes, we did it.

• Admin

@3.14 said:

@Mika In my opinion, EDM is taking over everything song structure wise.